The Waffle House

Now that the 12 Days of Oscar are over, I can get back to the business of posting food that has nothing to do with films.  In case you missed the posts, I had been hoping Jonah Hill would win for Best Supporting Actor (he didn’t), and that Melissa McCarthy would win for Best Supporting Actress (she didn’t, but really, I would have been happy with anyone in that category), and that The Help or Moneyball would win Best Picture (they didn’t).  The moral of this, I am horrible at predicting Oscar winners.

What I’m pretty good at, though, is making breakfast.  Especially breakfast on the weekend, when there’s no hurry and I can get the necessary amounts of caffeine in me before starting the task of making breakfast.  I had company this weekend, so I thought waffles would be nice.  I suppose I was lying when I said I’d be posting food that had nothing to do with films, because the whole time I was making these, I had Donkey from Shrek on my mind, where he says “And in the mornin’, I’m makin’ waffles!”  These waffles are great, and truth be told, you don’t have to wait for a Saturday to make them.  I’ve been using Alton Brown’s recipe for a while, adapting it depending on whether I have whole wheat flour on hand or not.  If I don’t, I substitute with all-purpose flour and it works just fine. I also like to pre-mix the dry ingredients and store them in an airtight container or jar until I need them, and then add the eggs, butter, and buttermilk when I’m ready to make these.  They freeze very well if you wanted to make a big batch ahead of time also.

Belgian Waffles

Ingredients:

  • 4 3/4 oz. all-purpose flour (approximately 1 cup)
  • 4 3/4 oz. whole wheat flour, approximately 1 cup
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 3 Tbs. sugar
  • 3 whole eggs, beaten
  • 2 oz. butter, melted
  • 2 C. buttermilk, room temperature

Directions:

Heat waffle iron according to manufacturer’s instructions (you can use a Belgian waffle maker or a regular one).

In a medium bowl whisk together the flours, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and sugar until combined.

In another bowl beat together eggs and melted butter, and then add the buttermilk.

Add the egg mixture to the flour mixture and stir until combined.

Allow the batter to rest for 5 minutes.

Spray the waffle iron with non-stick cooking spray (I recommend this even for non-stick waffle irons).

Ladle the recommended amount of waffle batter onto the iron according to the manufacturer’s recommendations.

Close iron top and cook until the waffle is golden on both sides and is easily removed from iron.

Serve immediately or keep warm in a 200 degree oven until ready to serve.

Makes 4-6 (8 inch round) waffles.

Source: Alton Brown

Pin This

 

5 Comments

Filed under Recipes

5 responses to “The Waffle House

  1. Those are perfectly formed waffles! My fiancé likes them fluffy but I like them crispy. :) so I eat the edges and he eats the rest. I’ve tried making pancakes before but not waffles as I don’t have a waffle maker. Do you make em often? :)

    • These are the perfect mix of fluffy and crispy, but it seems like your solution is a pretty good one! :)
      I do make them fairly often, and I like to make a bunch ahead of time and freeze them.
      I recommend putting a waffle maker on your registry ;)

      • I also wanted a sandwich machine. Lol. I’ll probably end up with lotsa appliances! How do you heat them up after? Microwave? Does it still taste as good?

      • @ Eggton, I use my George Foreman grill like a panini machine, probably time to upgrade :) The good news is, this waffle recipe also works in a regular waffle machine. I do love my Belgian waffle maker though.

        @thelairweddings, I microwave them for 30 seconds to a minute, and either heat them up in the toaster or heat them for an extra minute in the microwave. Either way I do it, they taste just as good. I freeze them in Ziplok bags individually or wrap them individually in plastic wrap.

  2. I got a waffle-maker for Christmas and it’s the regular kind– not a Belgian, and I was secretly disappointed. :) I got my parents a panini machine thing a few years ago because it was 20-30 bucks, and they use it all the time. It totally changes lunchtime!

Leave a Reply

