Sweet Sangria

In addition to the turkey and sides, which I can’t wait to post here, we did offer several beverage options at our Thanksgiving dinner. One of the beverage options for adults only was this apple cranberry sangria. If you missed the sangria I made earlier this year, it bears mentioning that part of the idea behind sangria is taking a cheaper wine and mixing it up with other ingredients to turn it into something truly terrific.  In keeping with the season, I decided that apple and cranberry hints were really the best way to dress up some Merlot-by-the-gallon for the holiday.  This drink was very popular with our guests, and so easy to make.  I do suggest making it a day ahead so that the flavors have time to blend.  Also, I did not add ice to this because I mixed it ahead of time and it was plenty cold when I took it out of the refrigerator the next day at serving time.  If you feel this will need ice, I strongly suggest filling some ice cube trays with cranberry juice or wine so the sangria isn’t diluted when the ice melts.  Ordinarily, I’d add chopped up fruit to the sangria but in my haste to put everything together, I forgot to and no one missed it.

Apple Cranberry Sangria

Ingredients:

  • 2 (750 ml each) bottles of red wine (I used Merlot)
  • 1 C. Triple Sec
  • 2 C. cranberry juice (can use cranberry juice cocktail, or any cranberry juice blend)
  • 2 C. apple cider

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a large pitcher and stir to combine.

Place the pitcher into the refrigerator and allow to chill for at least 8 hours or overnight (unless you want to serve it with ice).

Makes about 11 (1 C. each) servings.

Source: Diana Dishes original

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

