Tortilla Flats

More and more, when I make a meal plan, I find myself making a grocery list and thinking “I don’t need to buy this, I could make this.”  We’ve already peeled ourselves away from store-bought bread and I fully admit that when I started that project, I figured I’d be making sandwich bread and pizza crusts and that should cover most of our bread needs.  Then I remembered that we like bagels for breakfast and sometimes English muffins, so I started making those at home as well with great results.  While making the meal plan for this week, I decided on a dish that called for tortillas.  I added them to the grocery list.  Then I crossed them off and decided that I would try making them at home along with the other bread items I’ve tackled.

I’m so happy that I did.  These are better than any tortilla I’ve ever had out of a plastic bag from the grocery store.  These actually have flavor to them- a buttery, wheaty, fresh flavor.  The dough comes together in a flash in the food processor, and after a short rest rolling them out and cooking them takes no time at all.  It doesn’t look like tortillas will be on my grocery list again any time soon.  I substituted some whole wheat flour for some of the all-purpose in the original recipe and it worked out really well.  To cook these, roll out and cook one tortilla at a time.  Because they cook quickly and over-cooking them will result in a harder dry tortilla, this isn’t the place to multi-task.  By rolling out one tortilla, cooking it, and then starting the next one, you give the pan a chance to heat up again and don’t run the risk of drying these out or burning them.

diy flour tortillas

Flour Tortillas

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 C. all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 C. whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 heaping tsp. salt
  • 5 Tbsp. unsalted butter, softened
  • ¾-1 C. water

Directions:

In the work bowl of a food processor fitted with the dough blade, combine the flour, baking powder, salt and butter.  (If you are not using a food processor, combine the ingredients in a mixing bowl and cut the butter in using forks or a pastry blender until crumbly.)

Pulse for about 5 seconds, until the mixture is crumbly.

With the food processor running, slowly stream in the water just until the dough forms a consistent, dense ball that travels with the blade around the bowl of the food processor (or pour the water in slowly, stirring constantly if not using a food processor.

Remove the dough from the bowl onto a lightly floured surface and knead for 30 seconds or so just until the dough is tacky.  If the dough is too sticky, knead in a small amount of flour at a time until the dough is smooth but tacky.

Separate the dough into 12 equal portions (using a food scale helps to make sure the pieces are the same size) and roll each portion into a small ball.

Set the 12 dough balls on a lightly floured surface, cover with a clean towel and let them rest for 10 minutes.

Heat a large skillet (preferably a non-stick or cast iron skillet) over medium heat.

Working one dough ball at a time, flatten each dough ball into a disc, then use a floured rolling pin on a floured surface to roll each ball into a circle 8″ in diameter.  Keep other dough balls covered while you do this.

Put the tortilla into the heated skillet and cook for 12-20 seconds (this is going to depend on how hot your pan is so watch carefully), just until bubbles form and the tortilla is lightly browned,  then flip and cook for an additional 10-12 seconds, until lightly browned.

Continue the same way with the remaining dough balls until all have been cooked into tortillas, reducing the heat as needed.

Store tortillas for up to one week in an airtight bag in the refrigerator.

Makes 12 tortillas.

Source:  adapted from Confections of a Foodie Bride

3 Comments

Filed under Recipes

3 responses to “Tortilla Flats

  1. Beautiful tortillas! I never buy them anymore either, it is way more healthy and cost effective making your own! They also freeze well (I freeze them individually, shaped like balls).

Leave a Reply

