Cashew Chicken

I have been a busy, busy girl lately.  Samhain is just a busy time of year for me.  This year, there was shopping and lunch with a friend, dancing with girlfriends dressed as fairy tales, parties with cool people, all in addition to my normal, boring, day-to-day adult responsibilities.  This was by far the best Samhain I’ve ever had.

The only upside to starting my Monday at 5 a.m. was that I was in my kitchen by 6 p.m.  I decided to make up for my recent kitchen neglect by making “takeout” for dinner.  I had everything on-hand so I couldn’t justify calling the Chinese food place on the corner for cashew chicken.  I’m glad I didn’t.  This was so much better than take-out and I’m sure it was much healthier as well.

Cashew Chicken

cashewchicken

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. boneless, skinless chicken breast, sliced
  • 2 Tbs. dry sherry
  • 1 tsp. ginger powder
  • 3 1/2 tsp. cornstarch
  • coarse salt
  • 1/2 C. chicken broth
  • 2 Tbs. soy sauce
  • 1 Tbs. rice vinegar
  • 2 tsp. sugar
  • 1 Tbs. plus 2 tsp. vegetable oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 2/3 C. cashews
  • 2 green onions, white and green parts separated and thinly sliced

Directions:

Toss chicken, sherry, ginger and 1 1/2 tsp. of cornstarch in a medium bowl.  Sprinkle with salt.  Refrigerate for 30 minutes.

In another bowl, whisk together the broth, soy sauce, sugar, vinegar, and 2 tsp. of cornstarch.  Set aside.

Heat 1 Tbs. oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Add half of the chicken and cook 5 minutes, until golden and cooked through.  Remove from skillet and put onto a covered plate.

Add 1 tsp. oil to the skillet and cook the other half of the chicken.  Remove from skillet and put onto the covered plate.

Add 1 tsp. of oil to the same skillet.  Add the garlic, cashews and the whites of the green onions.  Cook, stirring constantly, for 3o seconds, until garlic softens.

Whisk the sauce and add it to the skillet, along with the chicken.  Cook about 30 seconds, until the sauce thickens.

Top with the green onions and serve over rice.

Source: Milk & Honey, originally from Everyday Food

Leave a Reply

