Bacon Wrapped Green Beans

I’ve been a terrible blogger.  I know it’s no excuse, but working in retail at the holidays is sheer insanity.  I assure you, I’ve been busy and not just with the shopping and the wrapping, but also with plenty of cooking and baking.  Which I can finally share with all of you.

So it’s no big secret that I’m Pagan, and being Pagan means that I celebrate Yule on the day of the winter solstice, to celebrate the dark half of the year abdicates to the light half of the year.  Conveniently, it’s celebrated on the shortest day of the year, the winter solstice.  I’ll discuss more about Yule as I share the things I made for Yule dinner.

This year, due to work constraints, I celebrated early with Yule dinner.  I made wassail, a prime rib roast, bacon wrapped green beans, roasted baby red potatoes, and brownie pudding for dessert.  It was all so fantastic, as was the company, that I almost don’t know where to start.  In the spirit of starting somewhere, I’ll start with the bacon wrapped green beans, because they’re festive in color and they’re a simple side for any meal.

Bacon Wrapped Green Beans

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb. fresh green beans, trimmed
  • 3 slices thick-cut bacon, cut in half

Directions:

Heat the oven to 350 degrees.

Place the green beans in salted boiling water for one minute.

Remove the green beans from the boiling water and immediately plunge into a bowl of ice water.  Set aside.

Line a rimmed baking sheet with aluminum foil and place a wire cooling rack onto the lined baking sheet.

Put the bacon strips on the wire rack and bake in the oven for 10 minutes (bacon should be flexible and slightly undercooked still).  Remove from the oven, drain on a paper towel lined plate, and set aside for 10 minutes.

Separate the green beans into 6 equal bundles (about 6-10 beans per bundle).  Wrap each bundle with a bacon slice and secure with a toothpick.

Place the green bean bundles on the wire rack used to cook the bacon and bake for 10 minutes, until bacon is cooked and the green beans are warm.  Remove toothpicks before serving.

Leave a Reply

