Crescent Ring Breakfast

I hope everyone that celebrates Christmas had a lovely holiday today, however you celebrate.  I do celebrate Christmas with family and friends that celebrate.  It’s lovely to enjoy good food and good company, and to appreciate those dear to me. I spent Christmas Eve and Christmas day among some major culinary talent. I should add that Santa put me on the nice list this year, and got some great gifts.  I’m very excited to report that Barefoot Contessa How Easy is That? has made its way into my cookbook collection, thanks to a very thoughtful gift giver.  I am sure there will be an update featuring a recipe from it any day now.

Seeing as how I knew there would be a big Christmas dinner in the afternoon, I didn’t want to go overboard with breakfast, but I wanted to bring something over to have when we woke up Christmas morning.  My grandma Joan made this breakfast pastry a few years ago, and it immediately came to mind. I believe Katie Couric gets the original credit for this concoction.  It’s very simple to make, and is essentially crescent rolls surrounding almond paste and jam, topped with a sugary glaze.  In my opinion, Christmas is a great day to have that kind of sugar bomb for breakfast.  It’s sweet and delicious (and could possibly be served as a dessert as well).  Oh, but just in case there wasn’t enough sugar, I also threw on some Christmas colored nonpareils.  It was a success all around.

Oh, and please excuse the cell phone picture.  I wanted a picture of the inside of this, and didn’t cut it until this morning.  I’m amazed I got this picture before it was devoured 🙂

Crescent Ring Breakfast

Ingredients:

  • 2 (8 oz.) cans crescent roll dough (such as Pillsbury)
  • 1 (7 oz.) tube almond paste
  • 1/4 C. preserves  or jam, seedless (I used strawberry, it is also fantastic with raspberry)
  • 1 C. confectioner’s sugar
  • 1 tsp. almond extract
  • 1 1/2 Tbs. water

Directions:

Heat the oven to 375 degrees.

Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper.

Remove the crescent roll dough from cans and separate at perforations into triangles.

Place 8 triangles in a circular fashion, long tips pointed inwards, on the prepared baking sheet.  Pinch together at edges to form a disk.

Roll out the almond paste between two sheets of parchment paper, into a 9 inch disk (approximately it should be about 1″ away from the edges of the crescent roll disk).  Place almond paste on top of the crescent roll disk.

Spread the jam on top of the almond paste.

Arrange the remaining 8 crescent roll triangles on top of the jam in a circular fashion, and pinch the edges together to form a second disk.  Tuck the edges of the top disk under the bottom disk and pinch to seal.

Bake for 25 minutes, until golden brown.

Remove from oven and allow to cool for 10 minutes (make sure it is completely cool before applying the glaze).

Make the glaze by combining the confectioner’s sugar, almond extract, and water in a bowl and stirring until combined.  Pour over the top of the cooled pastry and allow to set before serving.

2 thoughts on “Crescent Ring Breakfast

  1. Oh I love this recipe! At my house, we just call this pastry “the Katie!” and we have it every year on Easter morning.

    Hilary

    Like

Leave a Reply

