Hershey’s Best Brownies

I’m of the mindset that brownies should be fudgey.  Those who enjoy cake-like brownies just confuse me.  When I want chocolate cake, I make chocolate cake, not brownies.  No offense.  I just like my brownies chocolatey and gooey and decidedly un-cake-like.

I’ve made many brownies in my search for the perfect brownie recipe.  I’ve made all the favorites- Ina’s Outrageous, Baker’s One Bowl, Moosewood, and more boxed mixes than you could probably imagine.  I keep coming back to the same recipe, though, Hershey’s Best Brownies.  They never disappoint, and never come out like cake.  They’re as easy as using boxed mix, with much better tasting results.  I think it’s probably time to cave in and declare this recipe my go-to brownie recipe, but half the fun is experimenting so I’m not quite ready just yet.

These brownies are delicious all on their own, but since it was a special occasion (the end of the workweek . . .), I decided to add chocolate frosting.

Hershey’s Best Brownies

Ingredients:

for the brownies:

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 2 cup sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/4 tsp. salt

for the frosting:

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter
  • 2/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract

Directions:

Heat oven to 350 degrees.

Grease a 9×13 glass baking dish.

Place the butter in a large microwave safe mixing bowl.  Microwave at half power for 2 minutes, until butter is melted.

Stir in sugar and vanilla.

Add eggs one at a time, beating after each addition.

Add cocoa and beat well until blended.

Add flour, baking powder and salt, beat well.

Pour evenly into greased baking dish.

Bake 30-35 minutes, until brownies pull away from the sides of the pan.

Cool completely before frosting.

To make the frosting, melt butter in a medium saucepan.

Add cocoa powder and mix well.

Add milk and powdered sugar alternately, beating after each addition.

Once frosting has reached a spreadable consistency, beat in the vanilla.

Spread evenly over cooled brownies.

Makes 16 brownies (Hershey’s says to cut into 36 pieces . . .)

Source: Hershey’s

2 thoughts on “Hershey’s Best Brownies

Leave a Reply

