Whiskey Glazed Pork Chops

Call me a lush, but I’ve never met a shot of Jack Daniel’s that I didn’t enjoy.  They typically make for a memorable evening (if you’re like me and you stop imbibing while your memory’s still intact . . .).  In my case, they also make for a memorable dinner.

A few years ago, Pioneer Woman’s Whiskey Glazed Carrots were all the rage at Thanksgiving dinners everywhere.  They’re quite good, actually.  I decided to find out what happened when I applied the glaze to pork chops instead, to rave reviews.  So, when the opportunity arose to make dinner for someone last weekend, I decided whiskey glazed pork chops were the way to go.  I was right, they’re a completely delicious dinner, and I served them with mashed potatoes and green beans.  Fantastic, and sure to make an appearance on my dinner table again soon.

Whiskey Glazed Pork Chops

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. boneless pork chops, extra fat removed
  • 4 Tbs. butter
  • 1/2 cup whiskey (I used Jack Daniel’s)
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • fresh ground black pepper

Directions:

Heat a skillet over medium-high heat.

Place pork chops into heated skillet and cook for 2 minutes per side.

Remove from skillet and set aside.

In the same skillet, add the whiskey and let evaporate for 30 seconds.

Stir in the butter.

Sprinkle the brown sugar over the butter mixture, stir until melted in.

Add the pork chops back into the skillet.  Cover and cook for 5 minutes.

Add salt and pepper to taste, flip the pork chops, cover and cook for 5 more minutes, until no longer pink in the center.

Source: adapted from Pioneer Woman

One thought on “Whiskey Glazed Pork Chops

Leave a Reply

