Ginger Chicken with Broccoli

Sometimes, it’s best to let your guests decide.  The night before I planned on having a friend over for dinner I surmised at what I should make.  He said “some kind of chicken?” and I realized I haven’t really made anything with chicken in a while.

The next day I had an insane craving for some Chinese take-out, but definitely not for the calories and fat that come with it.  The convenience is nice, but I pay for that when my pants don’t fit.  Oh, add to the equation the fact that for the last few weeks, I’ve been planning my meals around what’s already in the cabinets and the freezer.  I live alone and have enough food in this house to feed a family of four for a long, long time.  My busy schedule means I don’t always get to make the meals I plan to, and then the freezer and cabinets start to bulge.  All around, time to pare down.

I found a copy-cat recipe for PF Chang’s ginger chicken with broccoli (which I love), and had all of the ingredients on hand.  This is exactly like what’s served in the restaurant, but better.

Ginger Chicken with Broccoli

Ingredients:

to make the chicken:

  • 1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breast, thinly sliced
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 Tbs. cornstarch
  • 2 Tbs. vegetable oil
  • 1/4 tsp. white pepper
  • 1/4 tsp. salt

for the sauce:

  • 1/2 cup low-sodium soy sauce
  • 2 Tbs. rice vinegar
  • 2 Tbs. sugar
  • 1/2 cup chicken stock
  • 2 Tbs. minced ginger
  • 2 Tbs. minced garlic
  • 2 Tbs. minced scallions
  • 1 lb. broccoli florets

to finish:

  • 4 Tbs. cornstarch
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 tsp. sesame oil

Directions:

Combine all ingredients for making the chicken in a bowl and toss to coat the chicken.  Cover and refrigerate for at least 3 hours.

Bring 1 1/2 quarts of water to a boil in a wok or large skillet.

Add the chicken and boil for 2-3 minutes, stirring to separate the chicken.

Remove the chicken to a plate, and drain the liquid from the wok.

Steam or boil the broccoli until tender-crisp and set aside.  Keep warm.

Combine the soy sauce, rice vinegar, sugar, and chicken stock in a small bowl.

Put 3 Tbs. vegetable oil in the wok and heat over medium heat.

Add the garlic, ginger, and scallions to the wok and saute for 10 seconds.

Add the combined sauce ingredients to the wok and bring to a simmer.

Return the chicken to the wok.  Cook, stirring, until the chicken is cooked through, 2-3 minutes.

Combine cornstarch and water.  Add half of the mixture to the wok and stir.  If the sauce is not thick enough, add the remaining half of the cornstarch mixture.

Drizzle with sesame oil and serve over the broccoli.

Serve with rice, if desired.

Makes 4 servings.

Source: adapted from Just One More Bite

Leave a Reply

