No Yeast Bread Sticks

I’m possibly in the minority here, but I just don’t love Olive Garden.  I used to, but as I got more comfortable in the kitchen, I realized I liked most of their menu better when I made it myself at home.  I take comfort in knowing what’s actually in my food, and how it’s prepared, and I like to see what I can do to make it a little healthier.  When I eat out, I like it to be food that might be difficult to replicate at home, or things I haven’t mastered, or things that restaurant does far better than I ever could.  So, when people rave about Olive Garden bread sticks, I get a little confused.  They’re good, but they just don’t taste fresh and homemade to me.

Yet, for some reason, I found myself wanting an Olive Garden bread stick to go with my lasagna.  Of course, this craving hit as I was just about to slide the lasagna into the oven, and so I didn’t have time to wait for bread to rise.  Lucky for me, I had saved a recipe from Domestick Goddess for just such an occasion.  There’s no yeast, and they’re done (from start to finish) in about twenty minutes.  The result is a soft, chewy bread stick that are a little more flat than the ones you get at Olive Garden, but every bit as tasty.

No-Yeast Bread Sticks

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 C. flour
  • 2 tsp. sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2  tsp. salt
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 3 Tbsp. butter or margarine, melted
  • 2 tsp. garlic salt

Directions:

Heat the oven to 450 degrees.

Combine the dry ingredients in a large bowl and slowly add milk to form a soft dough.

Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead gently 3-4 times.

Roll the dough out into a rectangle about 10″ x 5″ and cut into 12 sticks.

Put the melted butter into a 13×9 inch baking dish and turn the bread sticks to coat them with the butter.

Sprinkle the garlic salt over the bread sticks.

Bake for 14 to 18 minutes, serve warm.

Makes 12 servings.

Source: adapted slightly from Domestick Goddess

Pin This

2 thoughts on “No Yeast Bread Sticks

Leave a Reply

