Magic Custard Pie (Makes its Own Crust!)

Happy Pi Day, everyone!

Celebrated since 1988, Pi Day is most frequently acknowledged by eating pie while discussing the importance of pi. You may be wondering why this is all so important today.  Well, because pi carried out to two decimal places, is 3.14.  Personally, I’m looking forward to 3/14/15, because pi carried out to four decimal places is (hold your guesses!) 3.1415.  Isn’t math fun?  And tasty!

To celebrate, I wanted to make a quick and simple pie, so that I could spend more time eating pie discussing pi.  This pie gets mixed in the blender, poured into a pie pan, and makes its own crust while it bakes.  It doesn’t get easier than this.  It is best described as being very similar to flan, and every bit as delicious.

magic custard pie

Custard “I Make My Own Crust” Pie

Ingredients: 

  • 1/4 C. butter
  • 4 eggs
  • 3/4 C. sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 C. 2% milk
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 C. flour

Directions:

Heat oven to 350 degrees.

Put all ingredients into a blender and blend for 30 seconds.

Pour the mixture into a buttered pie plate.

Bake for 45 minutes.

Allow pie to cool completely before slicing.

Makes 8 servings.

Source: slightly adapted from Just A Pinch

4 thoughts on “Magic Custard Pie (Makes its Own Crust!)

  1. I wonder what I did wrong…. I tried making this tonight, and it was a disaster. It swelled up a LOT, then half of it exploded out of the pie plate, and the other half curled inward on top of the pie in a big weird crest. It was still liquid in the middle after 45 minutes and it still wasn’t edible after an hour in the oven. lol. I tasted it after it cooled, and it just tastes like wet, raw eggs and sugar.

    I’m sure I must have done something wrong, but what?

    Like

    1. Oh wow, that does sound like something went wrong. I’m not sure exactly what. I would suggest an oven thermometer to check your oven’s temperature, as that’s the most likely culprit I can think of. My pie also swelled while in the oven, but only slightly higher over the edge of the pie plate than a cake would. When it comes out of the oven, it shouldn’t still be liquid in the center, it must be fully cooked before you cool it.

      Like

      1. Good idea. I don’t bake very often, and I occasionally have disasters like this, so it could be temperature. Or I’m just the world’s worst baker. 😀 Even the way it turned out, I could still see the delicious potential of this pie, so I might try again in the future.

        Like

      2. If it’s something that happens more than once, I almost always start with the problem being the oven temperature. I had a gas oven that would “lose” heat and I didn’t realize it, so I was always wondering why baked goods were coming out burnt or raw, there was no middle ground. After baking brownies for almost two hours one night, I realized my oven temperature was to blame. Good luck!

        Like

Leave a Reply

