Coconut Macaroon Nutella Nests

Every so often (okay, every time I’m on Pinterest . . .), I come across a recipe that makes me stop the presses, gather the ingredients, and immediately get to baking.  This is one of those recipes.  Lane and I were discussing something fun and kid-friendly we could make for Easter, and after a brief pitch, we decided we’d make the chow mein noodle bird’s nests I’m quite fond of, with a few modifications.  Then I saw this recipe, and I couldn’t decide between the two.  It’d be like asking a parent which kid is their favorite, and I decided that I wouldn’t go that route, I’d just make these, too.

I’m so glad I did.  They are beyond fantastic.  Toasted coconut and Nutella? Yes, please.  The recipe is very easy to make, and you can use whatever Easter candy you like to fill the nests.  I filled four of them with strawberry jam instead of Nutella because some of these are destined for the Easter basket of a girl who doesn’t like chocolate.  The strawberry ones are just as good as the Nutella ones, but are made a little differently.  I’ve included steps for both, feel free to disregard the steps that don’t apply to you.  Or, follow both steps and fill them with jam and Nutella- I’m not sure why I didn’t think of that sooner.  Not that that poses an issue, I’m sure I’ll be making these again.

coconest

Coconut Macaroon Nutella (or Jam) Nests

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 C. sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 large egg white
  • 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/8 tsp. salt
  • 3 1/2 C. sweetened coconut
  • 1 C. Nutella
  • 1/4 C. strawberry (or other flavor) jam, optional, or more if you’re only using jam
  • Easter candy (jelly beans, m&m’s, Robin’s eggs are suggested)

Directions:

Heat oven to 325 degrees.

Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper or a Silpat mat.

In a large bowl, stir together the sweetened condensed milk, egg white, vanilla extract, and salt until combined.

Add in the coconut and mix well.

With a spoon, scoop up about 3 Tablespoons of the dough and place the dough onto the prepared baking sheet.

Form the cookies into the shape of a bird nest using clean hands.

Press down the center with your thumb.

If you’re using jam instead of Nutella, put 1 tsp. jam in the center of each cookie (however many you want jam in, leave the Nutella ones plain for now).

Bake for 17 to 20 minutes, or until slightly golden brown.

Remove from the oven and press your thumb down in the center of the nests again (for the empty cookies, not the jam ones).

Cool the cookies on the baking sheets for about 5 minutes or until they are firm and set.

Press the candy you’re using into the jam filled cookies at this point.  Continue to leave the Nutella cookies plain.

Remove cookies from baking sheet and place on a cooling rack to cool completely.

Place about a tablespoon of Nutella in the center of each nest that you’re filling with Nutella.

Place candies in the center of each nest.

Makes 10 nests.

Source: Two Peas and Their Pod

Leave a Reply

