Peanut Butter Chow Mein Noodle Bird Nests

Happy Easter to my readers who celebrate, and happy Passover to some of my readers as well.  I personally celebrate Ostara, which was back in March, but I do celebrate Easter with friends and family.  My family doesn’t have a big get-together for Easter anymore so I’ll be spending Easter with Lane and his family, who graciously invited us.

A few weeks back, Lane decided he wanted to make something that would be appropriate to put in an Easter basket for some kiddos.  I can’t ever just leave it at one thing (kids need variety, right?), so along with the coconut macaroon nests, I made these chow mein noodle bird nests again.  Last year, I made them with some milk chocolate.  This year, I had to change them slightly for a young one who doesn’t eat chocolate.  Last year, I made them on my own.  This year, Lane helped 🙂

Peanut Butter Chow Mein Noodle Bird Nests

Ingredients:

  • 16 oz. chow mein noodles
  • 24 oz. peanut butter melts (I use Wilton, you can also use any other flavor of melt)
  • candy for garnish, preferably in Easter colors (jelly beans, M&M’s, Robin’s Eggs)

Directions:

Either using a double boiler or in the microwave, melt the candy melts as directed on package.

Put the chow mein noodles in a large bowl.

Pour the melted candy melts over the chow mein noodles and stir to coat the noodles completely.

Line two baking sheets with waxed or parchment paper.

Scoop the noodle mixture onto the prepared baking sheet in 1/2 C. increments.

Using clean hands, shape the noodle mixture into nest shapes.

Top each nest with candy.

Place the baking sheets into the refrigerator until the nests are set.

Makes about 14 nests.

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Chow Mein Noodle Bird Nests

Leave a Reply

