Fettucine Alfredo

My family was blessed this past weekend with a celebration in honor of my grandmother’s 80th birthday.  It was so nice to get together to celebrate the occasion with family and good food.  As these things usually go, everyone committed to bringing a dish, and I volunteered to make fettucine alfredo.  I was told it’s grandma’s favorite, and I’m a firm believer that a gal should have her favorites on her birthday.  Especially her 80th one.

So, I made four pounds of this for the party (hey, we’re a big crowd!), but I did that by multiplying my regular recipe times four, so what I’ve posted here is enough to make one pound of pasta with alfredo sauce.  It’s important to use fresh Parmesan cheese and grate it yourself (I use a food processor to do this), because the stuff you buy in a can isn’t going to cut it.  It also has stabilizers in it that will keep it from melting into the sauce properly.  I also lighten it up by using a combination of heavy cream, light cream, and milk.  There’s not much you can do about the butter, but no one said this was something you should eat every day 🙂 .

fettucine alfredo

Fettucine Alfredo

Ingredients:

  • 1 C. heavy cream
  • 1/2 C. light cream
  • 1/2 C. milk (1% or higher)
  • 1/2 stick (4 Tbsp.) butter
  • 2 C. freshly grated Parmesan cheese (1/2 lb.)
  • 1 lb. fettucine

Directions:

Boil pasta in a large pot of salted water according to package directions.

Combine the milk, heavy cream, and light cream in a large skillet over medium heat.

Heat, stirring, for 2-3 minutes.

Add butter and continue to heat and stir until the butter is melted.

Sprinkle the cheese over the milk mixture and stir over medium heat until the cheese has melted and the sauce is smooth.

Pour the sauce over the cooked fettucine and toss to coat.

Makes 6 servings.

One thought on “Fettucine Alfredo

  1. Love the picture of your grandmother, she looks so happy. I’m definetly trying this recipe my kids love fettucini alfredo.

    Like

Leave a Reply

