Chili

Early in our relationship, Lane and I realized we had a problem on our hands.  We both like to be pretty active in the kitchen, and aren’t used to working with a sous-chef.  Couple that with the tiny kitchen we sometimes put a meal together in, and it’s a recipe for disaster.  I’m convinced that one day, I’m going to accidentally slice him with something sharp, or dump something that is boiling hot on him.  I’m not used to cooking with this heightened sense of awareness, and I’ve had to cook with children underfoot before!   That said, we do somehow manage to overcome this, and get a delicious dinner on the table together.  This chili was one of the first things we made together, and it’s not only a fond memory, but easy and delicious.

Ordinarily, I make my own taco seasoning (I like to control the salt content myself, and the pre-made kinds are loaded with it), but we used Penzy’s Chili 3000, and I was pleased with the results.  If you don’t have a preferred taco seasoning, or a Penzy’s nearby, I suggest the seasoning recipe at My Baking Addiction, which is what I make in bulk and keep on hand.

Lane preferred his chili in a bread bowl, and was very pleased with the results.  I had mine in a regular bowl, and we agreed that chili needs shredded cheddar cheese on top.

Chili

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. lean ground beef
  • 1 15 0z. can red kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 15 oz. can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 onion, minced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 28 oz. can crushed or stewed tomatoes
  • 2 Tbs. Penzy’s Chili 3000 seasoning (or seasoning of your choice)
  • 1 tsp. chipotle powder (optional)

Directions:

In a large pot or deep skillet, brown the beef and drain.

Add the onion and garlic to the beef and cook for 2-3 minutes over medium heat until the onions start to soften.

Stir in the beans, chili seasoning, and chipotle powder and stir to combine.

Stir in the tomatoes, including any liquid in the can.

Cook chili over medium high heat, stirring occasionally, until the liquid reduces (about 20 minutes).

Serve in a bread bowl, sprinkled with shredded cheddar cheese (optional, if desired).

Makes 6 servings.

Leave a Reply

