Creamy Cilantro Salad Dressing

How many times have you heard that it isn’t the salad, it’s what you put on it?  Well, there is some truth to that.  After taking the trouble to make some lean chicken breast and cut up fresh veggies to make a salad, I didn’t want to dump an unhealthy dressing on it.  I also have to watch the amount of sugar I consume, so “light” and “fat-free” salad dressings don’t always cut it for me in that department.  I was pretty excited when I found a recipe that uses nonfat Greek yogurt as the base for a salad dressing.

This dressing is creamy and flavorful, and can be made in no time.  I made a batch of this, put some on my salad for lunch, and used some to dip veggies in later on.  I can tell you it only gets better after a few hours in the refrigerator, when the flavors have had a little more time to combine.  I will definitely make this again.

Creamy Cilantro Salad Dressing

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 C. plain nonfat yogurt (I used Greek yogurt)
  • 1/4 C. fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 3 Tbs. fresh lime juice
  • 1 tsp. extra virgin olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Whisk all ingredients together in a small bowl.

Serve over salad or as a dip for vegetables.

Cover and refrigerate any unused portion.

Makes 4 servings.

Source: adapted from food.com

Leave a Reply

