Chickpea, Tomato, and Cilantro Salad

For the longest time, I wouldn’t eat tomatoes.  It didn’t matter that I liked ketchup, or tomato sauce, or even salsa.  I wouldn’t eat fresh tomatoes no matter what anybody told me.  Lucky for me, as we grow, our tastes change.  It started slowly.  I’d forget to ask the server at a restaurant to hold the tomato in my salad, and then I’d manage to miss a few pieces of tomato while I skillfully picked the tomato out of said salad.  Over time, I realized that the “surprise” bits of tomato really weren’t as offensive as I made them out to be, and I gave up the war on tomatoes.

Now, I still won’t eat them on a sandwich, but I do like them in my salads.  Paired with chickpeas and cilantro, grape tomatoes make for a fantastic salad.  We had this when the weather was nicer, as a side for some grilled burgers, and liked it so much, I can’t wait to make it again.  It really lends a different flavor to a cookout, and is good for you at the same time.

Chickpea, Tomato, and Cilantro Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1 15 oz. can garbanzo beans (chickpeas), rinsed well and drained
  • 1 cup cherry or grape tomatoes, halved
  • 1/2 C. green onion, sliced
  • 1/2 C. cilantro, washed, dried, and chopped coarsely
  • 2 Tbsp. fresh lime juice
  • 2 Tbsp. extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp. chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. onion powder
  • zest from one lime
  • salt, fresh ground pepper to taste
Directions:
Mix together the lime juice, olive oil, chili powder, cumin, onion powder, and lime zest to make the dressing.
Put the beans and dressing into a large plastic container with a snap-on lid and shake a few times to combine.
Let beans marinate in dressing one hour or longer.
Combine marinated beans with dressing, tomatoes, green onion, and cilantro and stir gently until well combined.
Season with salt and pepper to taste and serve.
Makes 6 servings.


Leave a Reply

