Yellow Loaf Cake

I wasn’t planning on going missing this past week.  It’s just been one of those weeks where the stars completely don’t align.  I suppose I got a little excited about all of the gorgeous warm weather last weekend, made my first beach visit of the year, and made my first amusement park visit of the year.  That translates into “I didn’t spend any time in the kitchen last weekend.”

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I have a roommate.  What I may have failed to mention is that my roommate, mainly due to scheduling, hadn’t moved in any of her furniture yet.  She was able to secure a truck for this weekend, and that meant we had some of my old, bulky things to pass on to starving college kids who need furniture friends.  The rest of this week has been spent taking apart and loading things into my SUV, to be dropped off at various locations.  This translates into “Dinner this week has been sandwiches.”

I had only one other mission this week: to make Lane’s son, “O” (everyone gets a nickname here), a birthday cake.  His fifth birthday is today, and ages ago on Pinterest, I saw a cake I knew he’d love.  I’ll admit, baking this cake was a pretty bright spot in an otherwise stressful week.  I did have some difficulty finding a loaf cake recipe that I thought would suit my needs.  You see, I didn’t just stop at making this yellow loaf cake.  I made this yellow loaf cake into something much more fun, but you’ll have to check back tomorrow to see it!  The cake itself is pretty easy, with few ingredients and little fuss, and resulted in a great tasting cake.  I did find the cake to be a little dry, but not so dry that a little frosting wouldn’t help it along.  On its own, you could use slices of this for strawberry shortcake, and it would be fantastic.

Yellow Loaf Cake

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 C. butter
  • 1 C. sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 C. sifted cake flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 4 eggs, well beaten

Directions:

Heat the oven to 350 degrees.

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment (or a large mixing bowl if you don’t have a stand mixer), beat the butter for 1-2 minutes until fluffy.

Add the sugar and continue to beat for 3 minutes.

Sift together the flour and baking powder.

Add the flour mixture to the butter mixture, alternating with the beaten eggs.  Mix well after each addition.

Spray a 9x5x3 inch loaf pan with non-stick cooking spray.

Pour the cake batter into the prepared loaf pan.

Bake for 45-50 minutes, until the top is a golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Cool the cake in the pan for 5 minutes, then turn the cake out onto a cooling rack to cool completely.

Glaze or frost the cake if desired, and store it tightly covered.

Makes 8 servings.

Source: Diana Rattray

Leave a Reply

