Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

Before I get into today’s recipe for roasted red pepper hummus, I’d like to take a moment to wish all of you a happy Memorial Day.  I’d also like to take a moment to thank the men and women who serve (or have served) in the Armed Forces, and a moment to honor those who died while serving.

Remember how I made Sriracha hummus?  Well, it was so good that I realized my refrigerator was void of all hummus, and I needed to remedy that.  Of course, the fridge was also void of all Sriracha (Sriracha lives at Lane’s house, I wouldn’t finish a bottle on my own before my eightieth birthday).  I did have some roasted red peppers, the jarred kind.  Now, I’d love to roast my own, but it was ninety degrees and humid outside and I needed lunch, so jarred was the winner.  Lucky for me, they worked out quite nicely, and with some sliced cucumber, this hummus was pretty fantastic.

Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

Ingredients:

  • 1 – 15 ounce can garbanzo beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 C. chopped roasted red bell pepper
  • 2 1/2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp. sesame oil
  • juice of half of a lemon
  • 1/2 tsp. salt, or to taste
  • 1/4 tsp. black pepper, or to taste
  • 1/8 tsp. cumin

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in the bowl of a food processor fitted with a steel blade.

Puree until smooth, and until all ingredients are combined.

If the hummus is too thick, add water, 1 Tbsp. at a time, and pulse until desired consistency is reached.

Source: adapted from Good Life Eats

Leave a Reply

