Baked Stuffed Peppers

I’m happy to report that the humidity finally broke.  My hair is also happy to report this, as it was starting to resemble something birds could take up residence in.

Stuffed peppers remind me of childhood, when my mother would make them in her pressure cooker.  I never really loved them, probably something about the soggy pepper part.  I did like the filling though, so I’d pick out pieces of soggy pepper and work my way through that instead.  I remember they were always a complete dinner, on their own, with some bread and butter.  That’s exactly how I served them.  The only thing I did differently was to bake the peppers (I don’t have a pressure cooker and was hoping for less sogginess- it worked).  I was really happy with how these turned out, especially because the peppers still had some crunch to them.

Baked Stuffed Peppers

Ingredients:

  • 6 large bell peppers, cores and seeds removed (any color is fine)
  • 1 lb. lean ground beef (turkey also works)
  • 1 1/2 C. cooked rice (white or brown)
  • 1 small onion, minced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 C. tomato sauce
  • salt and pepper
  • Parmesan cheese (optional)

Directions:

Heat the oven to 350 degrees.

In a large skillet over medium-high heat, combine the ground beef, onion, and garlic.

Cook, stirring, until beef is cooked through and onions have softened.

Stir in the rice.

Stir in half of the tomato sauce.

Add salt and pepper to taste.

Divide the beef mixture evenly among the hollowed-out peppers, filling the peppers to the top.

Spoon the remaining tomato sauce evenly over the top of the beef mixture.

Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese, if using.

Place the peppers, standing up, into a glass baking dish large enough to hold them (I used a 9×13 inch).

Bake for 40 minutes, remove from oven, and serve immediately.

Makes 6 servings.

Leave a Reply

