Balsamic Onion Chicken

I try my best to avoid kitchen mishaps, using the appropriate tools as required and such.  In a hurry last night, I decided to drain some pasta without using a strainer, instead using a spoon to hold back the pasta as I poured boiling water into the sink.  It shouldn’t come as a big surprise then, that I’m typing this with an ice cube secured to my ring finger by a paper towel.  Yep, I burned a finger. I’m okay, and I know Lane is really glad I’m not whiny when I do something stupid like burn my finger . . . .

Burned finger notwithstanding, the chicken we had for dinner once the screeching  treatment of my burn was all set was fantastic.  It was a meal completely worth burning your finger for.  I wouldn’t recommend burning anything, but I strongly recommend making this chicken.  The onions have a sweet, balsamic flavor when they’re done, and cooking the chicken couldn’t be easier.  If you needed another reason to make this, it’s a light meal, so you can have dessert.

balsamic onion chicken

Balsamic Onion Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 3 Tbsp. flour
  • 3/4 tsp. salt, divided
  • 1/2 tsp. ground black pepper, divided
  • 1 lbs. chicken breast (ideally 4 breasts, but you can cut larger ones in half to make 4 pieces)
  • 2 tsp. olive oil
  • 1 small Vidalia onion, cut in half lengthwise and sliced thinly
  • 1 C. fat-free chicken broth
  • 2 Tbsp. balsamic vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp. fresh thyme, minced (or 1/2 Tbsp. dried thyme)
  • 2 tsp. butter
Directions:
Combine flour, 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon pepper in a shallow dish.
Dredge chicken in flour mixture and turn to coat, shake off any excess.
Heat the oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat.
Add the chicken and cook, flipping over halfway through, until golden and cooked through, about 7 minutes
Remove to a serving plate and cover to keep warm.
Add onion to skillet and sauté over medium-high heat until lightly browned, about 4 minutes.
Add broth, vinegar, thyme and remaining 1⁄4 teaspoon each salt and pepper.
Bring mixture to a boil, reduce heat and cook, stirring often, until onions are tender, about 5 minutes.
Remove skillet from heat and stir in butter until melted.
Spoon sauce over chicken.
Makes 4 servings.
Leave a Reply

