Barbecue Sauce

I hope everyone had a great Father’s Day yesterday 🙂

I enjoyed the weekend with a cookout at my sister’s house on Saturday and a baseball game with Lane, O, and M on Sunday.  Fun times were had all around, and the weather couldn’t have been nicer.

Nice weather always makes me want to grill, and the same can be said for the dads in my life.  I knew I wanted to do something grill- related for Lane but that I also wanted to get something homemade involved.  This barbecue sauce was a good solution to that problem.  Homemade barbecue is so much better than what you get in a bottle from the store.  It really isn’t that difficult to make- chop a few onions, stir some things together and let it simmer for a few hours.  Properly canned, this will keep for a long time.  I didn’t use canning procedures for this batch, and it lasts about two weeks in the refrigerator.  My favorite way to use this up is to slather it on some chicken, but I’ve put it on pork chops and it’s fantastic on those as well.

Barbecue Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 C. vegetable or canola oil
  • 3 C. yellow onion, chopped
  • 6 cloves garlic, minced
  • 4 tsp. kosher salt, divided
  • 1 tsp. chili powder
  • ¼ tsp. ground cumin
  • 2-3 tbsp. honey
  • 1/3 C. unsulfured molasses
  • 1/3 C. dark brown sugar, packed
  • 2 (28 oz.) cans diced tomatoes
  • ¾ cup apple cider vinegar
  • ¼ cup white vinegar
  • 2 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 2-3 tsp. black pepper
  • ½-2 cups water

Directions:

In a large stockpot or Dutch oven, heat the oil over medium-high heat.

Add the onions and garlic and sauté until tender, about 5-6 minutes.

Mix in 1 teaspoon of the kosher salt, the chili powder, and cumin.

Stir in the honey, molasses and dark brown sugar.

Mix well and boil for about 3 minutes.

Stir in the tomatoes and cider vinegar.

Bring the mixture to a boil, then reduce the heat and let simmer on medium-low heat for 2-3 hours until the sauce has thickened and darkened.

Stir in the white vinegar and Worcestershire sauce.

Season with salt and pepper to taste (up to about 1 tablespoon of each).

Add in about ½ cup water to start and process the mixture using an immersion blender until smooth (alternately, you can add 1/2 C. water and place the mixture in a food processor).

Blend in more water if desired until the sauce has reached your desired thickness/consistency (I only used 1/2 C. water, I like my barbecue thick).

Store in airtight containers in the refrigerator up to 2 weeks.

Makes 4 pint jars.

Source: Annie’s Eats, originally from Delish

4 thoughts on “Barbecue Sauce

    1. If you can it in a water bath or pressure canner, it can be kept in a cool dry place for about a year (and possibly longer, but I err on the side of caution). If it is not canned, it can be stored in the refrigerator in a plastic container or glass jar for 2-3 weeks. I’ve used up the last of a jar at the one-month mark without any issues. The sauce can also be frozen in a plastic container or resealable freezer bag for a year. I do not recommend freezing anything in glass mason jars.

      Like

      1. Thank you very much! I’m just getting into making homemade barbecue sauce and I can’t wait to give this a try here in the next few days! I’ll give you feedback on how it worked out for me. Thanks again!

        Like

Leave a Reply

