Old Bay Shrimp Boil

We had another 97 degree day here in central Connecticut today.  I keep hearing a rumor that some thunderstorms tomorrow are supposed to cool things down.  I’m hoping the rumors are true- as much as I love summer, I hate heating up my house any more than I have to by making dinner when it’s this hot. Plus, I love thunderstorms, so that would be a win.

Dinner last night was a complete win.  I’m glad I heated up the kitchen to make it, although in fairness it doesn’t do too much damage.  After cutting up a few things and adding them to seasoned boiled water, we had this amazing shrimp boil.  I love that there’s hardly any prep work and hardly any dishes to deal with afterward.  The combination of shrimp, potatoes, corn, kielbasa, Old Bay seasoning and beer just screams summer to me.  The recipe below is how I scaled it back from the original (which feeds 8 people).  If you’re doubling this to feed 8, I’d still only add one beer but double all other ingredients.  I used Samuel Adams Summer Ale for this because that seemed appropriate, but any beer you enjoy drinking would do.

shrimp boil

Old Bay Shrimp Boil

Ingredients:

  • 2 quarts water (8 cups)
  • 1 can (12 ounces) beer (optional)
  • 1/3 C.  Old Bay seasoning
  • 2 Tbsp. salt
  • 4 medium red potatoes, quartered
  • 2 large onions, cut into wedges
  • 1 lb. lean smoked sausage, cut into 2-inch pieces
  • 4 ears fresh corn, shucked and halved crosswise
  • 2 lbs. peeled jumbo shrimp (21 to 25 count)

Directions:

Bring water, beer, Old Bay seasoning and salt to boil in a large stockpot over high heat.

Add potatoes and onions and cook for 8 minutes.

Add smoked sausage to the pot and cook 5 minutes.

Add corn to the pot and cook 7 minutes.

Stir in shrimp and cook 4 minutes or just until shrimp turn pink.

Drain the cooking liquid (either using a large colander or by carefully pouring it out using a spatula to hold back the food).

Pour contents of pot into large serving bowl or platter.

Sprinkle with additional Old Bay seasoning if desired.

Makes 4 servings.

Source: adapted from Old Bay

Leave a Reply

