Lighter Herbed Potato Salad

Sunday, I spent the day with Lane and his kids at my aunt’s house, at a cookout to welcome my cousin home from her year in France.  I remember when this cousin was a tiny baby, and now she’s entering her senior year in college. Wow, time flies.  I think Lane’s kids want to move in with my aunt- between my grandmother’s brownies, the hammock, the pool, and the volleyball net, I didn’t think they’d ever leave.  We bribed them with pizza.  I’m not kidding.

Potato salad was my contribution to the party, but I decided that instead of the red potato salad I love, I’d try something with Russett potatoes, herbs, and a lighter dressing than what you typically encounter at a cookout.  It worked out really well.  No one seemed to know I had substituted yogurt for some of the mayonnaise, and the herbs and garlic make this a standout instead of potatoes swimming in a pool of dressing.  I hope this reaches you in time to make it for any cookouts you might have planned for this upcoming holiday weekend 🙂 .

herbed potato salad

Lighter Herbed Potato Salad

Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs. Russett potatoes
  • 3 Tbs. white wine vinegar
  • 1/2 C. plain yogurt
  • 1/2 C. mayonnaise (light is fine)
  • 1/2 C. minced onion
  • 2 Tbsp. chopped fresh parsley
  • 1 Tbsp. chopped fresh dill
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced

Directions:

Put potatoes in a large pot and cover with water.

Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 15-20 minutes until potatoes are tender (this may take longer depending on how large each potato is).

Drain and let the potatoes cool slightly.

Cut each potato in half lengthwise and then cut each half into 1/2 inch slices (you want bite-size pieces).

Put the potatoes in a large bowl and sprinkle the vinegar over them.

Combine all remaining ingredients in a bowl and whisk to combine.

Pour the yogurt mixture over the potatoes and gently toss to coat the potatoes.

Cover and refrigerate for 24 hours before serving.

Makes 12 (1/2 C.) servings.

Source:  Adapted from Cooking Light July 2002

Leave a Reply

