Cheddar Sriracha Dip

Lane and I were excited to host a cookout last Sunday for family and friends (and yes, the friends who couldn’t make it for various reasons were missed- but we did not save you any S’mores bars, sorry).  It was a great day full of great food, and we were especially thrilled to spend some time with my sister and her girlfriend, who are visiting from Georgia.

This was our first time hosting an event together, so we went back and forth on the details a few times, but mostly Lane was happy to let me handle the menu (because he knows what’s good for him he’s a keeper!).  When I saw this pretzel dip, there was no talking me out of it.  Beer, Sriracha, and cheese- what could there be to argue about?!  I’m so glad I made it, it was a huge hit.  You really don’t taste the beer, but it does help to thin out the dip and give it a little more flavor.  Also, if you like things spicy, add more Sriracha- this had a little kick, but it was far from spicy.  One of my favorite things about this- it all goes right into the food processor, and then into a serving bowl, so there’s almost no cleanup involved.  It’s a thick dip, so I recommend a sturdy pretzel for dipping.  I made this ahead of time and let it refrigerate for a day before serving it, and I found that I needed to let it sit out of the refrigerator for a few minutes and give it a stir in order to serve it at a consistency that works for dipping.  I did try it right after I mixed it up, and the flavor was fine, so I’d say refrigerating it overnight is optional, but do refrigerate it until you’re ready to serve.

sriracha beer cheese dip

Cheddar Sriracha Dip

Ingredients:

  • 2 (8 oz. each) packages cream cheese, softened
  • 1 C. IPA beer
  • 2 Tbsp. honey
  • 1 Tbsp. Sriracha
  • 8 oz. shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 tsp. garlic salt
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp. onion powder

Directions:

In the bowl of a food processor, or in a large bowl using a hand mixer, mix the beer and cream cheese together until smooth.

Add all other ingredients to the bowl of the food processor or mixing bowl and process or beat on high speed until smooth and combined.

Cover and refrigerate overnight.

Makes 2 cups.

Source: adapted from You Eat Like That Every Day?

Leave a Reply

