Copycat Good Seasons Italian Dressing

Earlier this week, the tent was hung, hosed down, dried out,and Scotchgarded.  A 30-pack of beer was purchased and refrigerated. S’mores supplies were obtained, and glow in the dark bubbles were mixed up.  We’re beach-bound this upcoming weekend to go camping with a dear friend of mine, who has two daughters close in age to Lane’s kids.  Stop laughing- I’m really going camping.  With children.  In a tent.  I actually love camping.  My father would take us camping when we were little, and the incident where he thought his tent was on fire will live in family infamy forever (sorry, dad!!).  Lane’s kids are pretty excited about it, they’ve been playing “camping” in O’s room and using a blanket piled on the floor to represent their camp fire.  Seeing the tent come out always tells me that summer is really here.  I know that we’ve blown through the summer checkpoints of Memorial Day, and the Fourth of July but this is camping. Camping means summer is really truly here.

Besides meaning it’s camping time, summer means a lot of salads for me (which is kind of how this blog slid into hiatus last year- let’s avoid a repeat, mmmkay?). I have a strange addiction to Kraft’s Good Seasons Italian Dressing.  I don’t have an addiction to the price tag.  It’s usually around $3, and considering that I’m then adding my own olive oil and vinegar, it really isn’t such a bargain.  Then there’s the argument that those packets contain all manner of preservatives and such and that’s not so good for you.  Since I just madewhoopie pies from a boxed cake mix, I’m not going to stand on that soapbox today.  I will say that I typically prefer making things myself, from scratch, when possible.  This dressing is one of those things that’s worth a little extra effort.

There are a lot of ingredients in this, but they’re all things I generally have on hand.  I like to use cider vinegar instead of regular, but plain white vinegar works fine as does any red wine vinegar or balsamic.  I shake this up in my Good Seasons cruet, but any resealable container will do.  Yes, this does taste just like Good Seasons- I served it at a cookout and no one knew the difference.  The dry mix makes enough for several batches of dressing.  Keep the dry mix in a sealed container until you’re ready to make more dressing, then just add the oil, water, and vinegar.

italian dressing

Italian Salad Dressing (Good Seasons Copycat)

Ingredients:

for the dry mix:

  • 1 Tbsp. garlic salt
  • 1 Tbsp. onion powder
  • 1 Tbsp. sugar
  • 2 Tbsp. dried oregano
  • 1 tsp. ground black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp. dried thyme
  • 1 tsp. dried basil
  • 1 Tbsp. dried parsley
  • 1/4 tsp. celery salt
  • 2 Tbsp. kosher salt
to make dressing:
  •  1/4 C. cider vinegar (or any other vinegar)
  • 2/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 Tbsp. water
  • 2 Tbsp. dry mix

Directions:

In a resealable container or bag, combine all ingredients for the dry mix.

To make the dressing, combine 2 Tbsp. dry mix, vinegar, olive oil, and water in a cruet or other sealable container and shake to combine completely.

Refrigerate until ready to serve.

Source: adapted from Group Recipes

Leave a Reply

