Ranch Dressing

I know we discussed my summertime obsession with salad yesterday, but I just didn’t feel like we did the matter justice.  Okay, I kid, justice was served.  Still, it seemed unfair to share the Good Seasons knockoff and not also discuss my other most favorite dressing in the whole world, ranch.  What I usually don’t like about grocery store versions is that it just tastes like seasoned mayonnaise, which is fine for a potato salad, but not what I want on my garden salad.

For a few years now, when I want ranch dressing, this is how I make it.  It’s easy, I usually always have the ingredients on hand, and it all goes right into the food processor so there’s not a lot of cleanup.  I love this on a fresh garden salad, or to dip veggies in as a snack.  It’s creamy and tangy, and garlicky.  I store mine in a resealable container, keep it refrigerated, and hide it from anyone else in the house who might want some.  Okay, maybe not the last part, but it is that good.

Ranch Dressing

Ingredients:

  •  2 cloves garlic
  • salt, to taste
  • 1/4 C. Italian flat-leaf Parsley
  • 2 Tbsp. fresh chives
  • 1 C. mayonnaise
  • 1/2 C. sour cream
  • Buttermilk (as needed to thin the dressing to desired consistency, optional)
  • 1 tsp. white vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp. fresh dill (optional, use more or less to taste)

Directions:

Put all ingredients in the bowl of a food processor fitted with steel blade.

Process until all ingredients are combined and the dressing is smooth.

Put dressing in a resealable container and keep refrigerated.

Makes about 1 1/2 cups.

Source: The Pioneer Woman

Leave a Reply

