Grilled Shark with White Wine Garlic Cream Sauce

I know I haven’t been around much since the 2012 Summer Olympics series wrapped.  Tomorrow, there will be more of an explanation for that.  Today, there are more important things to discuss, because it’s Shark Week.  I know this is later than I usually post, but  I’m up to my eyeballs in boxes that excited about posting this.  Every year since 1987, The Discovery Channel has dedicated a week, known as Shark Week, to shark-related programming.  I’ve seen posts on other sites I follow for shark themed foods (I really wanted to make this watermelon but we are a party of two most days around here), but no actual shark recipes.  Seeing as how earlier this summer my local grocery store had shark on sale, which has been sitting in Lane’s freezer ever since, it was time to remedy this.

After researching other people’s reports about the taste and texture of cooked shark, I decided it would stand up to being grilled.  So, I seasoned it and Lane grilled it.  I couldn’t stop there- I had to make a white wine garlic cream sauce, in case I needed to smother the shark in something if I didn’t like it.   The sauce did work really well with this, but it turns out I probably would have liked the seasoned grilled shark on its own.  If you’re wondering, the cooked shark has almost the texture of chicken breast, and tastes like a slightly fishier pork chop.  I’m sure I’m not doing it justice, but trust me, if you wanted to venture out of your comfort zone, shark wouldn’t put you too far into unfamiliar territory.

shark white wine garlic sauce

Grilled Shark with White Wine Garlic Cream Sauce

Ingredients:

for the shark:

  • 8 oz. shark fillet
  • 1 tsp. garlic salt
  • 1/2 tsp. pepper

for the sauce:

  • 4 Tbsp. butter, divided
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 C. dry white wine
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 2 Tbsp. flour
  • 1 C. milk

Directions:

Sprinkle the shark with garlic salt and pepper on both sides.

Put the shark onto a plate, cover, and refrigerate while waiting for the grill to heat.

Heat the grill to medium-high heat (approximately 450 degrees).

When the grill has reached medium-high heat, place the shark onto the grates and cook, without moving the fillet, for five minutes.

Flip the fillet over and grill for an additional five minutes.

Remove from the heat and cover in aluminum foil to keep warm if the sauce isn’t ready yet (I made the sauce while the grill was heating).

To make the sauce, heat 2 Tbsp. of the butter in a small pan until melted.

Add the garlic and cook over medium heat, stirring, for one minute.

Add the wine and turn the heat to medium high and bring to a boil.

Turn the heat back down to medium and allow the wine mixture to simmer until reduced by half.

In another small sauce pan, melt the remaining 2 Tbsp. of butter.

Add the flour to that saucepan and cook over medium heat for five minutes.

Add the milk in small increments to the flour mixture (approximately 1/8 C. at a time- if you add the milk too fast, you’ll have lumps other than the minced garlic in your sauce), whisking the milk into the flour mixture thoroughly after each addition.

When all of the milk has been incorporated into the flour mixture, add the wine mixture to the saucepan and stir to combine.

Spoon over shark fillet and serve (this is also good over chicken).

Serves 2, with leftover sauce.

Source: sauce adapted from Garlic-Central, shark is a lucky guess  Diana Dishes original

Leave a Reply

