Chocolate Peanut Butter Torte

Originally, I planned on moving out of my apartment sometime in November. After some discussion Lane and I agreed that mid-October worked better for a number of reasons.  Which gives me nine weeks to pack up my apartment.  I’ve moved in less than a month, so I really shouldn’t be freaking out over here.  Then I looked at the calendar again and realized that I really only have three free weekends between now and the move (weekdays are tight for time).  I know that I’m in full-on panic mode for no reason, and that there is less stuff to pack than I think there is, and that it will all get moved one way or another.

So, because I have been late with posts, and because I think after this week, some comfort food would be nice to think about, I’ll share this chocolate peanut butter torte with all of you.  This recipe was born from the idea that I’m not packing food for this move, so I have to work my way through what’s in the kitchen already.  I had a box of chocolate cake mix, and I love peanut butter and chocolate together, so this seemed like a pretty good idea.  I’m glad I made this, it was a big hit at a family dinner to see my sister off to her senior year of college (hi, Megan!!) and the cake is so good that I took the leftovers home, to my house, where I wouldn’t have to share them with Lane.  Hey, I only have nine weeks before that’s not an option.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Torte

Ingredients:

for the crust:

  • 1 box chocolate cake mix
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 C. melted butter

for the filling:

  • 1 1/2 C. whole milk
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 3 large egg yolks
  • 1/3 C. firmly packed brown sugar
  • 4 tsp. flour
  • 1/2 C. creamy peanut butter
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

for the ganache topping:

  • 3 oz. semi-sweet chocolate, chopped
  • 4 Tbsp. butter, cut into small pieces
  • 1 Tbsp. light corn syrup

Directions:

To make the crust, heat the oven to 350 degrees.

Spray a 9 inch springform pan or tart pan with non-stick cooking spray.

Combine cake mix, egg, and butter in a bowl until a soft dough forms.

Spread the dough into the prepared pan, pressing it into the bottom and about 1 inch up the sides of the pan if using a springform pan.

Bake the crust for 15-20 minutes, until it has puffed up and is baked through.  Use a spoon (or the bottom of a drinking glass) to press the crust back down and against the sides.

Allow crust to cool completely.

To make the filling, combine the milk and salt in a medium saucepan and bring to a simmer.

In a medium bowl, whisk together egg yolks, brown sugar and flour.

Slowly ladle in half of the hot milk over the egg mixture, whisking constantly (do this slowly or the milk will cook the egg yolks).

Pour egg mixture back into the remaining milk in the pan.

Cook over medium heat, whisking constantly, until mixture comes to a boil and thickens, about 4 minutes.

Continue to cook, still whisking constantly, for 1 more minute.

Remove pan from heat, then whisk in peanut butter and vanilla.

Pour the hot filling into the cooled crust and spread evenly.

Carefully press a piece of plastic wrap directly onto the surface of the filling (to prevent a skin from forming) and refrigerate for at least 2 hours before adding the chocolate glaze.

To make the chocolate glaze, melt the chocolate and butter in a double boiler over medium heat, stirring to combine.

Stir corn syrup into the melted mixture until smooth.

Remove plastic from chilled tart and carefully pour the hot glaze over the filling, spreading evenly to cover the filling.

Refrigerate the tart for 30 minutes before serving.

Makes 16 servings (this is really rich, you can cut small pieces and it’s plenty for each guest).

Source:  adapted from Alpineberry


2 thoughts on “Chocolate Peanut Butter Torte

Leave a comment