Perfect Pork Rub

I keep seeing apple and pumpkin recipes everywhere, and I can’t help but wonder why we’re all rushing summer.  The time of year when summer becomes fall is my favorite, but I’m always a little sad to see summer go.  Summer doesn’t end for another two weeks, and I’m milking the last of it by getting outside to grill for dinner.  I have a pork rub seasoning that’s great to make when the seasons change, because you can use it on some pork chops for the grill in the summer, and sprinkle some on a pork roast to throw in the oven for fall.

I had made Lane this pork rub as a gift, and it works perfectly for pork chops or a pork roast.  I like to season the pork with this at least half an hour before I’m going to cook it, but I’ve sprinkled it on at the last minute and it’s been great.  This is going to make about a 1/2 C. of seasoning, and you’ll use about two tablespoons per pound of meat, but it stores well in an airtight container for about a year.  Here, I used it on some pork chops and they were a fantastic quick dinner.

Pork Rub

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 C. paprika
  • 1/8 C. fresh ground black pepper
  • 3 Tbsp. garlic powder
  • 2 Tbsp. onion powder
  • 1 tsp. cayenne pepper (you can add more if you like more heat)
  • 1/4 C. kosher salt
  • 2 Tbsp. white sugar

Directions:

Mix all ingredients together in a medium bowl to combine thoroughly.

Store in an airtight container.

To use for pork chops or a pork roast, use 2 Tbsp. seasoning per pound of meat.

Sprinkle over meat on both sides, rub in with fingers, and cook using desired cooking method.

Source: adapted from BBQ Pit Boys

Leave a Reply

