Chicken, Chorizo, and Potato Bake

A transition to comfort food generally starts to happen around this time of year.  There’s something so nice about having weather that gets cool enough at night that the thought of leaving the oven on for an hour doesn’t cause me to question my sanity.  We only have four more days of summer, the autumnal equinox is here on Saturday.  As I said before, I’m not rushing fall, but I am pretty excited about it.

Speaking of leaving the oven on for an hour, that’s almost all of the effort it took to make this for dinner.  I assembled chicken pieces, cut potatoes, chorizo, and some seasonings in a dish and let the oven handle it from there.  This turned out to be a new favorite.  It required minimal effort, and produced a dinner so delicious I can’t wait to make it again.  I used what I had on hand- white potatoes instead of red, and a combination of chicken drum sticks and breasts and I’m sure the meal didn’t suffer for it.  My only other change was to make half of the recipe, and I’m glad I did because it made plenty.  This easily fed four people, but if you have a bigger crowd, go ahead and double it.  While the meal was stellar, the photos were not.  So much so that I contemplated not sharing this at all.  Then I decided greatness should be shared.  I’m aware that this looks nothing like the picture floating around on Pinterest.  I’m okay with that, this chicken was that good.

Spanish Chicken, Chorizo, and Potatoes

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbsp.olive oil
  • 6 chicken thighs, bone-in, with skin (roughly 1 1/2 lbs. chicken pieces- I used 4 drum sticks and 2 breasts)
  • 1/2 lb. chorizo sausage, cut into 1/2-1 inch pieces
  • 1 lb. small white (or red) potatoes, halved
  • 1 red onion, peeled and roughly chopped
  • 2 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1 orange, zested

Directions:

Heat the oven to 425 degrees.

Put the oil in the bottom of a 9×13 baking dish.

Rub the skin of the chicken in the oil, then turn the chicken over so it is skin-side-up.

Add the chicken and the chorizo to the baking dish.

Sprinkle the onion and the oregano over the dish, then grate the orange zest over the dish.

Bake for one hour, baste with juices before serving.

Serves 4-6.

Source: modified from Nigella Lawson

One thought on “Chicken, Chorizo, and Potato Bake

Leave a Reply

