Pork Roast

I feel like the last week has been a blur.  Mainly because I coughed and sniffled my way through it.  Between my horrific seasonal allergies and stirring up every speck of dust in the house putting the final things in boxes, it’s been awful.  A steady diet of tea and crackers (okay, and the occasional cookie) isn’t exactly exciting fare.  I did get out of my sweatpants to go to the Big E, and I’ll be sharing that.  I also made it a point to celebrate Mabon last weekend.

Mabon is the celebration of the autumnal equinox.  It marks a time of reflection and the balance between light and dark.  Mabon is a time of giving thanks for abundant crops and in general.  The autumnal equinox for me marks the beginning of my favorite season.  It arrived here threatening downpours, but the rain held off long enough for Lane to get some work done on my car (which I am also thankful for).  We celebrated later with a pork roast, roasted potatoes, and simple glazed carrots.  We followed that up with pumpkin cheesecake ice cream from a local place, that I am now determined to replicate.  It was really a nice way to welcome fall.  Even if you don’t mark the changing of the seasons with any fanfare, this is a delicious pork roast for any occasion.  I made a two pound roast and it was enough for two meals.  I suggest planning on about 1/2 pound of roast per guest (it really depends on everyone’s appetite) and 20 minutes per pound.  An instant read thermometer is great here, the pork should have an internal temperature of 145 degrees and rest for five minutes before slicing (the temperature will rise slightly during resting).

Pork Roast

Ingredients:

  • 2 pounds (uncooked) boneless loin roast
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 2 tsp. kosher salt
  • 1 tsp. fresh ground pepper
  • 2 tsp. dried oregano

Directions:

Heat oven to 350 degrees.

Place a rack into a shallow roasting pan (a rack is preferred but not necessary).

In a small bowl, combine the olive oil, garlic, garlic powder, salt, pepper, and oregano.

Rub the olive oil mixture onto the pork roast on all sides.

Place the roast onto the rack (or directly into the pan) and let it sit for 10 minutes.

Put the roast into the oven and cook for 40 to 45 minutes (20 minutes per pound if your roast is larger), until a thermometer inserted in the center reads 145 degrees.

Remove from the oven and let the roast rest for five minutes before slicing.

Makes about 8 servings.

Source: Diana Dishes original

Leave a Reply

