Glazed Carrots

There are nine days until I move (even if I remember the insanity that ensued when I realized there were nine weeks left to go) and I’m only looking at spending one of them in my old apartment.  We’re in that fun place where we’ve stopped calling it “Lane’s house” and started calling it “our house.”  I’m happy to report that there’s not much left to move out of my apartment other than furniture.  Of that furniture, I’m really most concerned with my bed.  I can not wait to have my bed in the house.  Actually, I can not wait to sleep the amazing sleep that I only sleep on my bed (which I am convinced is the single most comfortable bed in the whole world), because sleeping in Lane’s bed (which is sagging on my side and creaks and generally just isn’t conducive to a comfortable night’s sleep) makes me pretty crabby.  I can’t help it, I think my bed puts the comfort in comfortable.  Since I am in no way being compensated by the maker of my bed, I’ll leave it at that.

The pork roast I made for Mabon was typical fall comfort food, but so were the glazed carrots I made to accompany it.  I was never really a fan of cooked carrots, but I made these one day for lack of other side items in the house and a cooked carrot fan was born.  I like easy sides as much as I like comfort, and this side dish gives me both.  The dried dill is optional, but I find that it gives these a little more flavor and makes them more savory.  You can also use baby carrots, but sometimes I find that they need to boil a little longer before they’ve softened.

Glazed Carrots

Ingredients:

  • 7 medium carrots, peeled and sliced into 1/4 inch rounds
  • 2 Tbsp. butter
  • 4 Tbsp. brown sugar
  • 1 Tbsp. dried dill
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Place the sliced carrots in a medium saucepan and add enough water to cover them.

Put a lid on the pan and bring the water to a boil, then reduce heat to a simmer and cook the carrots for 7-10 minutes until tender.

Drain the carrots and return them to the saucepan.

Add the butter and brown sugar to the saucepan and stir until butter is melted and carrots are evenly coated.

Pour the carrots into a serving dish and then sprinkle with the dried dill.

Add salt and pepper to taste.

Makes about six servings.

Source: Diana Dishes original

Leave a Reply

