Crock Pot Salsa Chicken Quesadillas

Years ago, when I joined an online message board for other newlyweds and was introduced to the idea of food blogging, salsa crock pot chicken was all the rage.  One food blogger discovered that if she plunked some boneless chicken breast and a jar of salsa into her crock pot, she had some tasty shredded chicken as the end result.  Next, every food blog I followed and every poster on this message board started making and raving about this miracle chicken.  I didn’t get on board then, mainly because if I had a jar of salsa hanging around, it was going to be shoveled into my mouth via a tortilla chip.  Also, I had other ways of making some shredded chicken for tacos so this salsa chicken crock pot wonder didn’t really appeal to me.

My tune changed when I found myself with no real plan for dinner one night, four jars of salsa in the house (don’t ask . . .), and some frozen chicken breast that was begging to be thawed and used up.  I had boxes to unpack, so a dinner that was fairly hands-off was a welcome idea.  I didn’t even stop to thaw the chicken first- I put the frozen chicken into the crock pot, covered it with the salsa, and left it on low for the day.  Turning it into quesadillas didn’t take much more effort and I served it with rice and beans.  You can use any salsa you have hanging around, and I can’t wait to try this with some homemade salsa as well.

crock pot salsa chicken quesadilla

Crock Pot Salsa Chicken Quesadillas

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. boneless, skinless chicken breast
  • 1 16 oz. jar salsa (any type)
  • 4 10 inch flour tortillas
  • 2 C. shredded cheddar cheese

Directions:

Spray the inside of the crock pot with non-stick cooking spray or line with a crock pot liner.

Place the chicken breasts on the bottom of the crock pot and cover with the salsa.

Set the crock pot to low and cook for 6 to 8 hours (you can also cook on high for 4 hours).

Remove the chicken from the crock pot and shred it using two forks.

Divide the chicken evenly among the four tortillas, putting shredded chicken on one half of each tortilla.

Cover the chicken with shredded cheese and fold the tortilla in half.

Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat and spray with non-stick cooking spray.

Place the folded tortilla into the skillet and cook for 2 to 4 minutes until tortilla starts to brown, then flip and cook for an additional 2-4 minutes.

Repeat until all quesadillas are cooked, then cut into wedges and serve.

Makes 4 servings.

Source: Diana Dishes original

Leave a Reply

