Thankful

I know I’ve been remiss in sharing recipes (and anecdotes, but I know you’re really here for the food) this week.  I have been prepping Thanksgiving dinner for fifteen people and running numerous other errands and completing numerous other chores.  It’s been rare this past week for Lane to not see me covered in flour or with a utensil in my hand. Not that I’m complaining, it’s been nice to see the house come together and become a real home (which needed to happen even if we weren’t having guests).  It’s also been nice playing a game of Tetris in my refrigerator, balancing all of the side dishes for today’s meal.

fresh green bean casserole

Today isn’t just about the food though.  Today, I’m grateful that I have family and friends to cook for, and to who will share all of this food with us.  I’m thankful that we have a home where we can host Thanksgiving dinner, especially considering that some of our guests are starting the long process of repairing their homes from hurricane damage.  I’m thankful for my family, and for Lane’s family.  I am so thankful for each and every friend that makes up the family I choose for myself.  I’m thankful for M and for O, who amaze me every day and who bring a fantastic balance of insanity and joy into my life.  I’m thankful for Lane, who is the best handyman, dish washer, KitchenAid mixer fixer, taste-tester, and partner a girl could ask for.  As someone dear to me said about his husband on their wedding day, “life is a gift, and [he’s] my favorite package.”

cranberry apple sangria

I hope today finds all of my readers well and thankful for the things in their lives.  I will resume regular posting on Monday, and I am thankful for my readers because without you, I would really just be the crazy lady who takes pictures of her dinner.  Happy Thanksgiving!

sweet potato pie (1280x857)

Leave a Reply

