“Funfetti” Cupcakes with Vanilla Buttercream Frosting

Happy 2013!  I hope everyone had a safe and happy evening.  We welcomed the new year in at home, hosting a good friend of ours and her two girls for a pizza party.  Adorable doesn’t even cover it.  The four kids all stayed up to “clink” their plastic cups full of sparkling cider at midnight and ring in the new year in pajamas.  After waffles for breakfast, we spent the first day of the year playing in the snow.  Now, it’s time to get back to normal because it’s back to school tomorrow for the kiddos.

I know that there are many people who are starting New Year’s resolutions today.  I’m not even remotely sorry that I’m not one of them.  I’m only a little sorry that these cupcakes aren’t anything anyone would classically consider health food, I don’t like to taunt people.  Unless by “healthy,” you mean “better for you than cupcakes from a mix that contain ingredients your grandmother couldn’t pronounce.”  Then, they’re not so bad.   I’ve used boxed cake mix for plenty of things (these whoopie pies, for instance), and so I’m not looking to wage a war against boxed cake mix here.  I just find that for making actual cake or cupcakes, using a boxed mix doesn’t save me any time and doesn’t produce a better result.  I like to have more control over the flavor of a cake or cupcake than a boxed mix lets me have.  Also, if I’m going to offer up cupcakes when many sites are offering much healthier fare, I need to do better than a boxed cake mix.  So instead of using a box for these, I made “Funfetti” knock-offs from scratch and they are amazing.  These are a good, moist cupcake with plenty of sprinkles throughout and unlike the boxed mix, you can customize and use any color sprinkles you like.  I would make these again, in moderation 😉  and I’ll add that it’s a good thing we had friends over so we could share these.  Any frosting would work with these, here I used the vanilla buttercream that I used to frost the holiday cupcakes for M’s class.

funfetti cupcake

“Funfetti” Cupcakes with Vanilla Buttercream

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 C. butter, softened
  • 1 C. sugar
  • 2 whole eggs
  • 1 Tbsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 C. flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/3 C. milk
  • 1/3 C. assorted brightly colored sprinkles
  • 1 batch vanilla buttercream (generously frosts twelve cupcakes, possibly with leftover frosting), or frosting of your choice

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Cream together the butter and sugar in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with paddle attachment (or a large mixing bowl using a hand mixer) until fluffy, about 3 minutes.

Add in the eggs and vanilla and beat until combined.

In a separate bowl, combine all dry ingredients.

Add half of the dry ingredients to the butter mixture, mixing until just combined.

Add the milk and mix to combine.

Once mixed, add in the remaining dry ingredients.

Fold in the sprinkles.

Pour into cupcake tins lined with cupcake liners and fill each cavity 2/3 of the way full.

Bake for 18-20 minutes, until the tops just start to turn golden brown and spring back when lightly pressed.

Let cool completely on a wire rack, before frosting.

Makes 12 cupcakes.

Source: How Sweet Eats

Leave a Reply

