Basic Pizza Crust Dough

A few weeks ago, I made whole wheat pizza crust dough in the bread machine, and it was great.  I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to sell the kids a completely wholewheat pizza crust, especially when they were already surprised that we weren’t just picking up a pizza in the first place.  With Friday night pizza dinner approaching, I tried a crust using bread flour instead of whole wheat flour, and it was okay.  The kids liked it fine, but I didn’t think it was worthy of a rave review.  I came across a recipe for barbecue chicken pizza that I wanted to make, and it was accompanied by a recipe for pizza crust (convenient, I know!).

Of the pizza crusts I’ve made so far, this one has been the favorite.  It mixes together quickly and then stays in the refrigerator, covered, to rise.  I recommend giving the dough 24 hours in the refrigerator to rise.  The dough can be refrigerated for three to four days, so feel free to plan that far ahead and make this as early as you need to.  The resulting crust has a nice crispness to it, and I’d say the texture of the actual crust portion (or as some kids call it, the “handle”) is slightly less chewy than a bread stick.  I can’t say that this will be the last pizza crust dough recipe I’ll try (I’m still eager to make a pizza dough with King Arthur Flour’s white wheat flour), but I can say that this is the best one I’ve made so far.  If I wasn’t insane so interested in exploring the possibilities, I’d be happy to stop searching and have this as my go-to pizza crust.  The recipe makes two twelve-inch diameter pizzas, and I’m quite pleased at how well the pizzas I made with this reheated.

white pizza dough

Basic Pizza Crust Dough

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 C. warm (warmer than lukewarm, but not hot) water
  • 1 tsp. active dry or instant yeast
  • 4 C. all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. kosher salt
  • 1/3 C. extra virgin olive oil

Directions:

Sprinkle yeast over the 1 1/2 C. water and set it aside (for as long as it takes you to combine the flour and salt with the oil, a few minutes is all it should take for the yeast to bloom so by the time you’re ready to pour it in, it’s been set aside for long enough).

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine the flour and salt.

With the mixer on low speed, drizzle in the olive oil and mix just until it is combined with the flour mixture.

Pour in the yeast mixture and mix on low speed just until combined.

Coat a mixing bowl lightly with olive oil and form the dough into a ball.

Put the dough into the bowl and turn the dough ball so it is coated in oil.

Cover the bowl tightly with plastic wrap and store it in the refrigerator for 24 hours (or up to four days).

Makes enough dough for 2 12-inch pizzas.

Source: The Pioneer Woman

2 thoughts on “Basic Pizza Crust Dough

    1. Sorry! I’ll update to clarify but the yeast only needs to sit with the water for a few minutes, just for as long as it takes to get the flour, salt and olive oil together in the mixer. Yeast blooms pretty quickly so a minute or two is all you need. By the time you’re ready to pour the yeast mixture in, it has been sitting for a few minutes and that’s long enough.

      Like

Leave a Reply

