Beef Satay with Peanut Dipping Sauce

When life is hectic, it’s nice to wind down at the end of the day.  Lately, winding down comes mainly in the form of listening to chatter from the Yankees game on TV while hanging out on Pinterest until I can’t keep my eyes open anymore.  I’m still spending way more time on the Food and Drink and DIY boards than I should considering the lack of time I have to be making the food and drinks, or the amazing DIY projects I see.  On a recent evening, while peeling myself away from staring at gorgeous wedding photos on the Weddings board, I came across a beef satay recipe that looked so simple and so tasty that it immediately went on the upcoming meal plan.  Of course, I also saw a centerpiece I loved so much that it immediately went on the upcoming wedding plan.  I digress.

The beef satay recipe was perfect for our schedule.  I mixed up the marinade and let the sliced beef hang out in the marinade bath overnight in the refrigerator.  Lane threaded the beef onto skewers and grilled it while I drove home and whipped up the peanut dipping sauce.  I also made rice the night before (waiting an hour for brown rice isn’t in the weeknight schedule) and we had a pretty fantastic meal in no time.  The original recipe included a “sweet hot dipping sauce” that sounded incredible, but I didn’t have ingredients on hand for that like I did for the beef skewers and peanut sauce.  I know beef and peanut butter might not seem like the most obvious combination, but trust me it’s fantastic.  I will definitely make this again, and I’ll be sure to keep you posted about the original dipping sauce.

beef satay

Beef Satay with Easy Peanut Dipping Sauce

Ingredients:

for the beef skewers:

  • 2 lbs. flank steak, cut into approximately 1-inch wide strips
  • 2 Tbsp. brown sugar
  • 3 shallots, quartered
  • 1/4 C. rice wine vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp. soy sauce
  • 2 Tbsp. lime juice
  • 2 tsp. sesame oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, peeled and smashed

for the peanut dipping sauce:

  • 1/2 C. creamy or crunchy peanut butter (I used creamy this time)
  • 1 Tbsp. reduced-sodium soy sauce
  • 3-6 Tbsp. milk
  • pinch of dried red pepper flakes

Directions:

To make the marinade, combine all of the ingredients except for the beef in a resealable bag or plastic container with a lid.

Whisk until the brown sugar is dissolved.

Add the beef and stir to make sure that all of the beef has been coated in the marinade.

Seal the bag or cover the container and refrigerate at least 1 hour, up to overnight.

When ready to grill, heat the grill to medium-high heat.

While you’re waiting for the grill to be hot enough, thread each piece of beef onto a skewer.  Metal skewers are fine, I use wooden skewers that I soak in water ahead of time (you can also soak the skewers and freeze them in a large resealable bag ahead of time, then pull out the quantity you need before grilling).

Place the skewered beef onto the grill and grill for 5-6 minutes, turning once.  Discard the extra marinade.

To make the peanut sauce, combine all of the ingredients in a small saucepan over low heat.

Stir constantly until the mixture is blended and smooth, and the peanut butter reaches a pourable consistency.  Start with 3 Tbsp. of milk and add more, 1 Tbsp. at a time until the desired consistency is reached.

Source: beef satay adapted from Chef’s Catalog; peanut sauce Diana Dishes original

Leave a Reply

